From Salthouse Dock

Bob Webb

From the Tower Records album page:

Part of Bob Webb's worldwide reputation as "King of the Shanty" is based on this recording, originally released as a cassette tape (only) in 1995. The tracks were laid down in Paradise Street, Liverpool, England in December 1994; the very street celebrated by 19th-Century merchant sailors in the famous work-song (shanty) "Blow the Man Down".

The celebrated Liverpool shanty-group 'Stormalong John' and "Shanty Jack," a talented shantyman and professional mariner from Hull, England joined Bob to make this recording. After it's release, 'From Salthouse Dock' was hailed by Sing Out! Magazine as one of the best sea-shanty albums in traditional style, that is, sung like old "shellbacks" would have given the songs on the long voyage around Cape Horn or the Cape of Good Hope. Bob and his crew recorded nearly 25 songs in the one-day
recording marathon. The newly-remastered CD version of the album not only sounds stacks better than the original cassette release, but includes three previously-unreleased tracks, "The Plains of Mexico," "One More Day," and "Liverpool Judies." This album also features Bob playing the double-headed minstrel style banjo, probably the first time that shanties, which in some cases derived from the minstrel theatre, were replayed back onto the instrument on which they likely originated.

The Salthouse Dock was built in 1734 on the Rivery Mersey in the port of Liverpool.

Track list:

  1. Heave Away Me Johnnies
  2. Won't You Go My Way
  3. Sailor's Alphabet
  4. The Hogeye Man
  5. Sally Brown
  6. Congo River
  7. The Florida's Cruise
  8. Strike the Bell
  9. Haul Away for Rosie-O
  10. Hello, Somebody!
  11. Roll the Woodpile Down
  12. The Plains of Mexico
  13. South Australia
  14. The Gals O' Chile
  15. Coast of Peru
  16. Goodbye, Fare Ye Well
  17. The Rope with the Golden Strands
  18. Rockport Farewell
  19. Dear Old Liverpool Town
  20. Liverpool Judies
  21. One More Day
  22. A Liverpool Packet