Leviathan! Ballads and Songs of the Whaling Trade

A.L. Lloyd Martyn Wyndham-Read Trevor Lucas, Martin Carthy, Dave Swarbrick, Alf Edwards

A.L. Lloyd is joined by Trevor Lucas and Martyn Wyndham-Read in chorus, as well as Alf Edwards (English concertina and ocarina), Dave Swarbrick (fiddle), and Martin Carthy (Mandolin). The album was recorded by City of London Studios, and released in 1967. It was re-released in Germany (Pläne 52 520, 1978, with German notes) and again in the UK (Topic TSCD497, 1998).

All tracks are traditional, spanning 150 years of whaling.

Track list:

  1. The Balaena
  2. The Coast Of Peru
  3. Greenland Bound
  4. The Weary Whaling Grounds
  5. The Cruel Ship's Captain
  6. Off To Sea Once More
  7. The Twenty-Third Of March
  8. The Bonny Ship The Diamond
  9. Talcahuano Girls
  10. Farewell To Tarwathie
  11. Rolling Down To Old Maul
  12. The Greenland Whale Fishery
  13. Paddy And The Whale
  14. The Whaleman's Lament
  15. The Eclipse